Honorary Degree Recipients

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Honorary Degree Recipients include:

Doctor of Humane Letters
Honorable Hillary Rodham Clinton, United States Senator from New York
Hillary Rodham Clinton is the first First Lady elected to the United States Senate. After two years in the Senate, Senator Clinton has graduated from the freshman class where she worked in a bipartisan way to get legislation passed, traveled to every corner of New York State, secured millions in appropriations and built a strong and effective constituent service operation.

Noel J. Brown, Environmentalist, U. N. Environmental Program
Noel Brown has been a champion of the environment for over 30 years. As North American Director of the United Nations Environment Programme he has educated, inspired, and motivated hundreds of thousands of people around the world to work for a just and ecologically sustainable future

Michael G. Oxley, Congressman, Fourth District Ohio
Congressman Michael G. Oxley, serving his 11th term in the House of Representatives, is co-author of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act that created a broad new set of investor protections and set up a federal oversight board for the accounting industry. As chairman of the House Financial Services Committee, Oxley held the first congressional hearings on the accounting abuses at Enron, WorldCom, and Global Crossing.

Doctor of Fine Arts
Tony Randall, Founder and Artistic Director for the National Actors Theatre
Emmy award winning actor Tony Randall is the founder of the National Actors Theatre now permanently in residence at Pace University’s Schimmel Center for the Arts. NAT is “Broadway’s” only not-for-profit house (located downtown) solely dedicated to presenting classic works of theater and theatrical education delivered at no cost to the students or their schools.

Doctor of Letters
John Lawrence Ashbery, Poet
John Ashbery is considered by many to be one of the foremost poets in the English-speaking world. Author of over 20 books of poetry, he is the winner of the National Book Award, the Pulitzer Prize and a MacArthur grant. Through his non-profit foundation Flow Chart, he has helped establish the David A. Bickimer-Provise of Learnings/Academy of American Poets Prize for student writers at Pace.

Brian P. Lamb, Founder and CEO, C-SPAN
Brian Lamb helped found C-SPAN – the Cable Satellite Public Affairs Network—and has served as the company’s chief executive officer since its beginning in 1979. Today, more than 86 million households can tune in C-SPAN’s flagship network.

Doctor of Science
Antonia C. Novello, Commissioner, New York State Department of Health
Dr. Antonia C. Novello heads one of the leading public health agencies as New York State Health Commissioner. She was the first woman and first Hispanic to hold the position of United States Surgeon General. During her tenure as Surgeon General she focused her attention on women, children and minority health issues and on AIDS, smoking and underage drinking.

Doctor of Laws
Honorable Sonia Sotomayer, U.S. Circuit Judge, Court of Appeals—2nd Circuit
U. S. Circuit Judge Sonia Sotomayer was appointed to the Court of Appeals – 2nd circut in 1998 and was nominated by Presidents Clinton and Bush. Judge Sotomayor made the 1995 ruling enjoining the owners of major league baseball teams from continuing their lockout of players by ordering them to restore free-agent bidding and salary arbitration. She also ordered release of the suicide note written by late White House counsel Vincent Foster, and ordered New York City's Grand Central Partnership to pay minimum wage to homeless street cleaners.

Doctor of Commercial Science
Lawrence E. Dwyer, Jr., President, Westchester County Association
Westchester County Association President Lawrence E. Dwyer, former school principal and leader, brought Westchester County into the world of international trade by creating partnerships with the U. S. Department of Commerce Expert Assistance Center, The Westchester Partnership for Economic Development, Hudson Valley Technology and others.