2nd Annual Golf Classic (2000)

Second Annual Lubin Golf Outing
from Summer '2000 Lubin Business

The Lubin School of Business' second annual Golf Outing was held on May 8, 2000, at the Wheatley Hills Golf Club in East Williston, New York. Proceeds from the event, which totaled $9,000, will provide support for the Lubin School's $7 million fundraising campaign. The Lubin Golf Outing's proceeds support a research fund for junior faculty and other programs in the Lubin School. James Anziano, '77, partner, Pustorino, Puglisi,and Co. and chair of the Golf Outing Committee, was instrumental in planning and executing the successful event. He and several other alumni members of the Golf Outing Committee have now designated the second Monday in May as Pace University Day at Wheatley Hills.

The 75 golfers in attendance, which included faculty, staff and alumni, joined President Ewers and Dean Arthur Centonze in teeing-off on the greens and fairways of Wheatley Hills. Golfers enjoyed the sunny weather and the lovely club facilities, and brunch and dinner receptions with fabulous fare. At this year's event, the first annual Robert I. Ruback award was given to the golfing foursome with the lowest net score. The award honors the late Mr. Ruback, University Counsel, founder and long-time chair of the Lubin School's Tax Department and an avid golfer. His widow, sister, and other family members attended the reception and dinner where the award was presented.

From left, Lubin Advisory Board member Les Stephens with Former President Patricia Ewers, Perry Vascellaro '51 and Golf Outing Committee Chairman James Anziano '77. President Ewers won the women's "closest to the pin" prize.

From left, Adjunct Professor Dave Slavin with Senior Vice President Marge Gotti, Sean Sexton '95 and Executive Vice President Joan Tucker, who won the women's "longest drive" prize.

From left Director of Buildings & Grounds Bill Link, Athletic Director Joe O'Donnell, former Assistant Athletic Director Dave Bierwirth and Michael Faherty '82.

Associate Professor of Finance, Ron
Filante (left) with Wes Watson '73 & '78 and Associate Professor of Accounting Phil Finn won the "team low gross" prize.

The Robert I. Ruback Award winning team, which included Bill Frewin '66 (second from right) poses with Mrs. Ruth Ruback (left), her daughter Marsha, President Ewers and former Comptroller Joe Lizzio '75 (far right).

Lubin Dean Arthur Centonze (second from left) won the "closest to the pin" and poses on the 8th hole with Pace Trustee George Bundschuh '55 (left) former Executive Vice President of Finance Paul Magali, and Joe Lizzio, who looks like he wanted to win the car.