main navigation
my pace

Current Students

back to Current Students

Schimmel Center: April–May 2019 (NYC)

News Story

PPA presents a haunting spring play, Dance Out Loud returns, a weekend music fest, plus a special preview of what’s in store this summer. We’re so hype for the Schimmel Center’s latest lineup!

Dark of the Moon
Wednesday, April 10 | 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, April 11 | 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 12 | 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 13 | 3:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, April 14 | 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Presented by the students of the Pace School of Performing Arts (PPA), this perennial favorite is based on the haunting folk ballad of “Barbara Allen.” Employing a large cast and imaginative settings in the Smoky Mountains, it recounts the story of John, a strange “witch boy” who upon first beholding the beautiful Barbara Allen immediately falls in love, then seeks to become human to woo her.

Dance Out Loud
Friday, May 3 | 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 4 | 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, May 5 | 2:00 p.m.
Presented by the students of the PPA’s Commercial Dance program and featuring choreography from many of the dance world’s top professionals, Dance Out Loud is a non-stop night of fun!

Crossing Bridges Music Fest
Friday, May 10 | 7:30 p.m.
The first annual Crossing Bridges Music Fest bridges generations, styles, and boroughs, celebrating the best of traditional and modern Americana with contemporary singer-songwriters, legacy artists, and those who defy categorization.

Crossing Bridges Music Fest
Saturday, May 11 | 3:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Join Janie Barnett, Dom Flemons, Abbie Gardner, and The Kennedys for a singer-songwriter circle where these artists play classics, share stories, and collaborate on new tunes.

The Bronx Wanderers
Saturday, May 18 | 7:30 p.m.
Buckle your seatbelts because The Bronx Wanderers deliver a high-octane ’50s, ’60s, and ’70s rock n’ roll experience. Add in a dose of pure Italian famigilia and you capture the magical appeal of The Bronx Wanderers!

Coming Soon...

DakhaBrakha
Saturday, June 15 | 7:30 p.m.
This playful band from Kiev performs songs from their album, The Road, as well as old favorites. Reshaping ancient and contemporary Ukrainian music, DakhaBrakha’s hypnotic textures meld soulful folk and ritual songs with Balkan, African, jazz, and R&B music.

Menu